Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Gilbert Adams Law Offices Since 1930
  • Since 1930
  • ~
  • Free consultation

How Long Do You Have to File a Claim for a Car Accident?

Return to FAQ Videos


In Texas, there’s generally a 2-year statute of limitations against the at-fault driver for having filed a lawsuit. In other words, as long as you have the lawsuit on file two years from the date of the collision, your rights will be protected. The statute of limitations can be a bit longer. For UIM claims, they are 4 years for UIM claims, 3 years for PIP claims. We’re here on the border in Louisiana and they do have a shorter statute of limitations over there. If the at-fault driver is a public entity such as a city government or the state government, the time can be much shorter and it can vary depending on who the state actor is, whether it’s the city or the state. It’s very important if you’ve been in a collision with a governmental actor such as the state, the city or county, that you seek the advice from a lawyer quickly after that collision occurs because the time to get that claim resolved may be much shorter after the collision.

Do you have questions about an important legal matter, wondering whether you have a claim or what your rights are, and what to do next to seek justice and protect your interests? Call our office at 409-835-3000 or fill out the form below to schedule a free consultation with a knowledgeable, experienced and dedicated Texas attorney.

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation